Find a Baker >> National Cupcake Week

29 June, 2010
National Cup Cake Week home button National Cup Cake Week home competitions button National Cup Cake Week home resources button National Cup Cake Week home sponsorss button National Cup Cake Week home recipes button

Want to speak to a cupcake expert or simply find a top cupcake baker in your area?  These bakeries will be getting involved in National Cupcake Week.

Are you a professional baker and want to be included on the list? Contact: Susann Jerry e mail: susannJerry@bdpmedia.com

If you would like to get involved in National Cupcake Week contact Andrew Williams:
cupcakes@william-reed.co.uk

Bakeries supporting National Cupcake Week
Bakery Website Location
Aardvark Cakes www.aardvarkcakes.co.uk St Helen's
Alice Rose Cakes and Cookies www.alice-rose.co.uk Yorks
and the dish ran away with the spoon ltd www.dishandspoonfood.co.uk West Didsbury
Angel Cakes www.angelcakesbyvirginiavalentine.co.uk Altrincham
Angel Food Bakery www.angelfoodbakery.co.uk Brighton
Angelina Cupcake www.angelinacupcake.co Towcester
Bake Me Happy www.bakemehappyonline.co.uk NW London
Bake Sense www.bakesense.com Cheshire
Bea’s of Bloomsbury www.beasofbloomsbury.com London
Beach House Bakery www.beachhousebakery.co.uk Bristol
Beverly Hills Bakery www.beverlyhillsbakery.com London
Bittersweet Bakers www.bittersweetbakers.com London
Blue Door Bakery www.bluedoorbakery.co.uk Midlands
Bluebell Bakery www.bluebellbakery.co.uk Nottingham
Bumblebee Bakery www.bumblebeebakery.co.uk Brighton
Buns of Bowland www.bunsofbowland.co.uk Lancashire
Buttercup Cake Shop www.buttercupcakeshop.co.uk London
Butterfly Bakery www.butterflybakery.co.uk Poole
Cake and Cookie Heaven www.buycake.co.uk Chalfont St Peter
Cake Balls www.cakeballs.co.uk Worcester
Cake Heaven www.cakeheaven.co.uk Bournemouth
Cakehole London www.cakeholelondon.com London, SE11
Cake Toppers www.caketoppers.co.uk Surrey
Cakes to Your Door www.cakestoyourdoor.co.uk Sydenham
Cameo Cupcakes www.cameocupcakes.co.uk Derby
Campbell's Bakery www.campbellsbakery.com Crieff
Candy Cakes www.candycakes.com London
Cate's Cupcakes www.catescupcakes.com Yorkshire
Chepstow Cupcakes www.chepstowcupcakes.com Chepstow
Cherish Cupcakes www.cherish-cupcakes.co.uk Belfast, N. Ireland
Chocoloty Cupcakes www.chocolotycupcakes.co.uk North London
Cirencester Cupcakes www.cirencestercupcakes.co.uk Cirencester
Classy Cupcakes www.classy-cupcakes.co.uk Nottingham
Comfort and Joy www.comfortandjoycakery.co.uk London
Coughlans www.coughlans.com Croydon
Country Cupcakes www.countrycupcakes.com Priston
Cracking Cakes www.crackingcakes.biz Harpenden, Herts
Crumbs Cakes www.crumbscakes.co.uk Warwickshire
Cupcake And Co www.cupcakeandco.co.uk South Shields
Cupcake Café UK www.cupcakecafeuk.co.uk
Cupcake Emporium www.cupcakeemporium.co.uk London
Cupcake Garden www.cupcakegarden.co.uk Dorset
Cupcake Glasgow www.cupcakeglasgow.com Glasgow
Cupcake Me www.cupcakeme.org Ireland
Cupcake Passion www.cupcakepassion.co.uk Swindon
Cupcake Revolution Cupcake Revolution on Facebook Wirral, Cheshire
Cup of Love Bakery www.cupoflovebakery.co.uk Liverpool
Cupcakes and Peonies www.cupcakespeonies.blogspot.com Lichfield
Cute Country Cupcakes www.cutecountrycupcakes.co.uk West Sussex
Delights by Cynthia www.delightsbycynthia.com London
Ella's Bakehouse www.ellasbakehouse.co.uk London
Ems Cupcakes www.emscupcakes.co.uk Ramsgate
Fair Cake www.faircake.co.uk London
Fairly Fairy Cakes www.fairlyfairycakes.co.uk Harrow
Fantasy Cupcakes www.fantasycupcakes.co.uk Rawtenstall
Fashion Cake www.facebook.com/Fashioncake Leicester
Genii Cupcakes www.genii-cupcakes.co.uk Hampshire
Great Little Cupcake Company www.thegreatlittlecupcakecompany.co.uk Harwood
Hampsons and Sayers www.sayersthebakers.co.uk Wigan
Handmade Cake Company www.handmadecake.co.uk Maidenhead
Hey Little Cupcake www.iheartideas.com Manchester
Hummingbird Bakery www.hummingbirdbakery.com London
I Made It Myself www.imadeitmyself.co.uk London
Ina's Kitchen Desserts www.inashandmade.ie Dublin
Indulgence Cupcakes www.indulgencecupcakecompany.co.uk Brighton and Hove
Jessica's Cupcakes www.jessicascupcakes.com Banbury
Katie Cakes London www.katiecakeslondon.co.uk London
Kiss Me Cupcakes http://twt.tl/VgoCH2e Birmingham
La Crème Cupcake www.lacremecupcake.com West Sussex
Lavender Bakery www.lavenderbakery.co.uk Islington
Leakers Bakery www.leakersbakery.co.uk Bridport
Life is Sweet www.LifeIsSweetNI.com Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Liggy's Cake Company www.liggyscakes.co.uk Edinburgh
Lily Vanilli www.lilyvanilli.com London
Lippylicious Cakes www.lippyliciouscakes.co.uk West Yorks
Lulubelles Cakes www.lulubellescakes.com Dorset
Macaroon www.macaroonbyalisonseagrave.co.uk Bafmord
Mama's Cupcakes www.mamas-cupcakes.co.uk Herts
Melie's Cakes www.melies-cakes.co.uk Essex
Missi's cakes www.missiscakes.com Beds
Model Catering www.modelcatering.com London, NW10
Molly's Little Bakery www.mollyslittlebakery.blogspot.com Swanley
Mums Who Bake www.mumswhobake.co.uk Milton Keynes
Nina's Cakes & Bakes www.ninascakesandbakes.com London
Outsider Tart www.outsidertart.com London
Patacake Bakery www.patacakebakery.co.uk Norwich
Paul Rhodes Group www.rhodeslondon.co.uk Greenwich, London
Peace of Cake www.peaceofcakelondon.com London
Pretty Princess Cupcakes www.prettyprincesscupcakes.co.uk Widnes, Cheshire
Queenies Cupcakery www.queeniescupcakery.co.uk Telford, Shrops
Ragamuffin Cupcakes www.ragamuffincupcakes.co.uk Hertfordshire
Samworth Brothers www.samworthbrothers.co.uk Melton Mowbray
Sara Louise Kakes www.saralouisekakes.co.uk Witney
Scrumptious Buns www.scrumptiousbuns.co.uk Norwich
Simply Cupcakes www.simplycup-cakes.co.uk Whistable
Star Bakery www.starbakery.co.uk Hucknall
Sugarcup Bakery www.sugarcupbakery.co.uk London
Swallow Bakery www.swallowbakery.com Chichester
Sweet & Fancy www.sweetandfancycupcakes.co.uk Kent
Sweet and Wicked www.sweetandwickedcupcakes.co.uk London
Sweet Couture www.sweetcouture.co.uk London
Sweet Tooth Cupcakery www.sweettoothcupcakery.co.uk Manchester
Tasty Little Cakes www.tastylittlecakes.co.uk London
Tcakes www.tcakes.co.uk
The Angel Bakery www.theangelbakery.co.uk Tetbury
The Cake Makers www.thecakemakers.co.uk Oxfordshire
The Cake Store www.thecakestore.co.uk London
The Cupcake Baker www.cupcakebaker.co.uk Oxford
The Cupcake Café Long Bennington
The Cupcake Girl www.thecupcakegirl.co.uk Cardiff
The Fancy Baker www.thefancybaker.com South East London
The Kent Cupcakery www.thekentcupcakery.blogspot.com Kent
The Lilypad Bakery www.lilypadbakery.co.uk Telford
The Little House of Cupcakes www.thelittlehouseofcupcakes.co.uk Blackpool
The Organic Cupcake Company www.theorganiccupcakecompany.co.uk London
The Tiny Cake Company www.thetinycakecompany.com Richmond
The Vanilla Bakery Ltd www.vanilla-bakery.co.uk Suffolk
The Vanilla Pod Bakery www.vanillapodbakery.com Cheltenham
The West Sussex Cupcake Company www.westsussexcupcakecompany.com Storrington
Tilly Mint Bakery www.tillymintbakery.com Truro
Traiteur de Paris www.traiteurdeparis.com France
Truckles Deli and Coffee House www.truckles-deli.co.uk West Wimbledon
Truly Scrumptious www.scrumptious-cupcakes.co.uk Telford
What's Up Cupcake www.whatsupcupcake.com Whitstable
Wicked Bakery www.wicked-bakery.co.uk Gloucestershire
Yummy Cupcake Company www.yummycupcake.co.uk Lancaster
Yummylicious Cupcakes South Yorkshire

 

National Cup Cake Week sponsors

2010 Sponsors

Craft bakers are using an innovative website as a low-cost way to help advertise their business.

Square Pie has announced that its Pie World Cup is to return to coincide with the Football World Cup this summer.

Lees Foods has seen its year-on-year pre-tax profit increase more than twofold from £379k in 2008 to £843k in 2009.

Strong sandwich sales and consumer demand for meal deals has helped Greencore to up its operating profit by 31.8%, to €25.9m for the half year ended 26 March, 2010.

Flintshire firm Tasties has landed a deal to supply Tesco’s 13 stores in North Wales with a new range of sandwiches.

Stephen Ort, previously a regular contributor to British Baker, died recently after a long illness.

Technical advice

21 May, 2010

Richard Stevenson, technical manager at the NAMB, answers members’ queries on food and trading law and other business issues

Q: Must we pay an employee their full salary while they are absent on jury service, and, if so, can we claim compensation?

Jury service creates unexpected problems for employers. But sometimes, an employee can ask to be excused – or to have their selection deferred.

The case is Shah v First West Yorkshire. Mr Shah was off work for three months between January and April 2009.

New rules on ID cards

21 May, 2010

ID cards can now be provided as proof of the right to work in the UK. Before an employee starts work, you must ask them for documentary evidence of their right to work in the UK. Employers who cannot prove that they have done this – for example, by keeping copies – risk a fine under the Immigration, Asylum and Nationality Act 2006.

A new case says that employers must make it clear to an employee that their right to payment in lieu of any holiday entitlement at the end of employment applies only to the final holiday year. What is the best way to deal with this?

The feedback from this year’s NAMB conference at Heron’s Reach in Blackpool was great. Tired but happy – that’s how I felt at the end of the event.

Walkers Charnwood Bakery walked away from Melton Mowbray with an armful of accolades, including Supreme Champion, at the British Pie Awards on Wednesday.

Don Williams, CEO of brand specialist Pi Global, reckons that in both the US and the UK lessons on how to create excitement in retailing grocery brands need to be learned

Now in America they have a machine for slicing dough before it is baked, and this idea is rather novel. The 'Do Slicer' passes the moulded dough piece to a cutting frame where 25 sickle-shaped knives revolve through slots in the frame. Melted fat is smeared automatically on the knife blades and this, coating the dough slices, prevents them sticking together again after baking. Thus the baked loaf holds together alright, but the individual slices can be taken from it one at a time. Whether the bread is likely to find much favour either in America or over here remains to be seen...

Mouthing off

21 May, 2010

"I am the Nigella Lawson of breast milk cookery. Why would you prefer to drink milk from a dirty cow over a clean, healthy woman? Breast milk is sweeter and slightly oily it actually tastes of goodness, whereas cow's milk just tastes of chemicals"

Fun and games

21 May, 2010

Bakery-themed video games are rare, so we welcome 'Pile up! Bakery' a two-player puzzle game in which players compete to stack the highest pile of pastries, cakes and slices of fruit falling off an assembly line, and balance it to prevent it from crashing down. Despite costing just a couple of quid to download, one review says it's set to join the list of poorest-rated games ever released on the Sony PSP... So we suggest you turn your production line up to 11 and play real-life pile-up then post a video of it on Youtube.

Fast food solutions

21 May, 2010

In these hectic times, snacking on the go has come into its own. But as our lifestyles gather speed, driven by the need to tweet every time we boil the kettle, the need for fast food solutions that keep pace grows ever more acute. Sometimes one yearns for a 120psi cannon to fire food straight into one's face.

Check your waste line

21 May, 2010

If you've used sales predictions and discounted food that's nearing it's sell-by date, but there's still stacks of unsold sandwiches and cakes, then there's only one thing for it: chuck it away.

Is green your colour?

21 May, 2010

By its very nature, baking is an inefficient use of energy: baking requires the highest temperatures (200-240°C); bread is a low-density product (90% air); and the occupation ratio in an oven is generally very small.

The environment may have been a notable absentee from the General Election campaign, but make no mistake it has not gone away. Companies picking their way through the government's Carbon Reduction Commitment (CRC) know this only too well. This is yet another Government-sponsored initiative, along with the Climate Change Levy (CCL), attempting to monitor and reduce CO2 emissions and more specifically energy consumption. Since launch, the CRC has been given the slightly longer, but more explanatory, name of the CRC Energy Efficiency Scheme (CRC EES).

Keeping it local

21 May, 2010

A Ginsters pasty or slice, displayed in the chiller cabinet of a petrol station, may not immediately conjure up thoughts of the Cornish countryside carrots and potatoes plucked fresh from the soil or local cheese producers but perhaps it should.

Integrating Le Pain

21 May, 2010

There are lots of ways to raise money for charity. And swimming 1.5 miles around London Docklands, getting straight on to a bicycle with still wobbly legs, then going for a long run is more challenging than most.

Italian style

21 May, 2010

Thomas the Baker is launching a range of authentic Italian breads The Rustica using Italian flour imported from Rome.

Quantum leap for tills

21 May, 2010

EPOS Group has launched a new version of its Quantum till solution specifically for bakery shops.

Fluid movement

21 May, 2010

Lancashire company SpringThyme Oils has developed a range of fresh-flavoured infused fluid shortenings specifically for the bakery sector. They are made by blending hard and soft vegetable oils with fresh herbs and spices, such as chilli, garlic, rosemary or thyme. These are then infused into an oil matrix to create fat-based flavour solutions.

French fancy

21 May, 2010

Parisian chocolatier Maison du Chocolat has launched a range of macaroons for the summer. They include: Passion a dark ganache infused with passion fruit between a light almond biscuit; Andalousie an almond macaroon filled with fresh lemon zest infused into a dark ganache; Porcelana a dark macaroon, with a ganache made from the rare Porcelana cocoa bean; Pistachio a pistachio ganache in an airy almond macaroon; and Noisette crunchy nuts in a dark ganache.

Push on pastries

21 May, 2010

French bakery manufacturer Bridor has expanded its organic range with new additions in bread and Viennese pastries. Now featuring in the Pure Organic Range is a 140g baguettine; a 280g baguette; a 55g pavé; a 55g grain and cereal Purepavé; a 70g croissant; and a 75g pain au chocolat. All are supplied frozen.

Five-a-day targeted

21 May, 2010

Kids' drink Robinsons Fruit Shoot is launching Fruit Shoot My 5, a new range of juice drinks to help mums give their kids one of their five-a-day.

By Max Jenvey of Oxxygen Marketing Partnership, a strategic management agency that works on brand development in the bakery, foodservice and convenience retail sectors

Bakery ingredient specialist CSM United Kingdom has launched two new, improved Craigmillar Creme Cake Mixes, suitable for muffins, sheets and loaf cakes, so bakers can create variety from a single mix. The resilient crumb structure means cakes slice cleanly and inclusions are held evenly throughout the batter. Both mixes meet the Food Standards Agency's 2010 sodium guidelines when using the standard recipe.

Adams Food Ingredients, the functional ingredients division of The Irish Dairy Board, has launched a line of additives to help bakers enhance the health and nutritional values of products.

New to Fleming Howden's (Premier Foods') portfolio is The Premier Range of cake mixes for both craft bakers and cake manufacturers. The mixes, developed by the technical team at Fleming Howden over the past six months, comprise: Premier Genoese Mix; Premier Doughnut Mix; Crème Cake Mix; American Doughnut Mix & Concentrate; Premier Sponge Mix; Premier Scone Mix & Concentrate.

Making whoopie

21 May, 2010

Macphie has developed a batter to help bakers tap into the latest craze of whoopie pies a cross between a cookie and a cake sandwich.

Dried fruit pricing

21 May, 2010

Raisins: With provisional prospects looking increasingly optimistic for both optimal Californian and Turkish new crops from August, raisin pricing over the next four to five months will be largely determined in California, by their ability or willingness to compete with Turkey.

Matthew Goodman,

Edinburgh-based artisan bakery Peter's Yard has announced that its handmade Swedish crispbreads will now be available on the shelves of Selfridges' food hall.

West Sussex firm Prosperity Brownies has started supplying nine Waitrose stores in Sussex with its brownies and flapjacks this month.

Scottish bakery companies McGhee's and Pars Foods expect to sell half a million of their new reduced-fat Scotch pies in the next year, after launching the product at the Scottish Cup Final at Hampden Park stadium.

In Short

21 May, 2010

French boulangerie and patis-serie chain Maison Blanc has announced that it has won new business with Sainsbury's.

Manchester-based GH Sheldon plans to boost sales with the supermarkets and expand into other channels after investing nearly £4m in a second bakery.

In Short

21 May, 2010

Training and education were at the forefront of the National Association of Master Bakers' achievements last year, outlined by chairman of the board Mike Holling at the annual conference.

Trading Standards Officers (TSOs) will spearhead a project to test the salt levels of bread in craft bakeries across the UK and provide advice on how to reduce salt content in products.

In Short

21 May, 2010

Sixth outlet for Gail's

Cheap and 'recession-busting' sandwich ranges threaten to undermine consumer perceptions of quality and value for money in the category, according to a new report from the British Sandwich Association.

Site Search

Webinars 

    Insights from the Bakery Market Report 2016

    You can now purchase the Bakery Market Report 2016, which offers insight into the retail bakery trade in the UK.

Events Calendar

Facebook

Twitter